Since the state legislature opted not to approve Initiative Petition 1 in Nevada, the decision moves to the voters on Nov. 8, 2016. In the meantime, some possession charges have been reduced to misdemeanors.
The Status of Nevada Marijuana Legislation
The 2015 Nevada Legislature did not approve Initiative Petition 1, which favors the legalization, taxation and regulation of recreational marijuana for adults ages 21 and over. Because the Nevada lawmakers took no action, the measure will be included on the general election ballot in 2016.
Current Penalties Regarding Possession of Marijuana in Nevada
In Nevada, the first three offenses for possession of up to one ounce of marijuana are now misdemeanors. However, fines are imposed at $600 for the first offense and $1,000 for the second and third offenses. Mandatory addiction screening and possible treatment options may be enforced starting with the first offense, but after a third offense, a person may also be sentenced to one year in jail.
When an individual is caught with under an ounce of marijuana a fourth time, the infraction moves to a felony and comes with a fine of up to $5,000. At this point, the possibility of incarceration jumps to a maximum of four years. Cultivation or intent to sell or distribute marijuana still carries a possible felony conviction that can include much steeper fines and prison sentences.
Until Nevada Marijuana Laws Change Again
If you should find yourself facing criminal marijuana charges in Clark County, you will want the best criminal defense attorney in Las Vegas on your side. A felony marijuana conviction can negatively impact your life in many ways, including making it difficult for you to keep or find employment. Good defense attorneys understand the marijuana laws and stay up-to-date on the changing laws regarding this substance. Depending on your circumstances, the right attorney may help you get felony charges reduced to a much more manageable misdemeanor charge.